Last Friday evening many, many people from all walks came together to celebrate Rodney Jordan‘s birthday – and raise more than $500 for the Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition.

During the celebration, I asked one of my typical birthday questions, “What’s the most significant event for you this past year?”

Rodney’s response: “This night, having all of these people here, this community.”

Wow.

I believe that tells you exactly what kind of person Rodney is – he is all about the community – at our roundtable, Rodney jordan is Sir Galahad – pure of heart and ever galant (fyi, I’m labeling myself as the town crier in this little analogy).

Here’s the thing, I don’t know if many people really know just how much Rodney does – from organizing events to putting people and organizations together to supporting hundreds of people in the area – Rodney was the first person to step up to lead the Community Matters Networking Group, Rodney put together (and primarily funded) the first Social Media Train in Delaware – oh yea, and for anyone who has benefitted from using the hashtag #netde, yea, Rodney started that.

It is safe to say that most people in our community owe a debt of gratitude to Rodney – I know I do.

And when I look at how much he has done in just the last couple of years I’ve known him, I can’t wait to see how much will be accomplished in the coming years!